Let It Go

 

Have you ever sat on the sidelines watching others have fun, desperately wanting to partake but was afraid if you did, you would be told: “you’re not acting your age?”  I was often told growing up, “to act my age!” I do not blame my parents. They taught what they knew.  Although,  I carried this baggage with me into adulthood, proving no real purpose except to prevent me from fully living my life.  That was me, until 2 years ago.

My friend Kate was great at bursting out in song and dance.  I loved that about her.  One day Kate and I left the park after an afternoon of hiking.  Shortly after we left, it started to rain.  She pulled the car over and asked me to get out.  But it’s raining, I said. I gave her a gazillion reasons why getting out of the car was not something I wanted to do.  She grabbed my hands pulled me out of the car and said, “let’s dance.”  I couldn’t believe how much I resisted her invitation.  But I danced in the rain. The more she encouraged me the more I felt myself let go of the resistance and had fun.

To this day, I hold that memory dear to my heart. Something so simple, and yet, it made such a significant impact in my life.  It felt freeing to let go and enjoy dancing in the rain with someone who cared enough to help me release a shackle.

The mantra “act your age” still rings in my ear when I want to bring the child out in me to play. But I continue to practice letting go of that mantra, and when the opportunity presents itself,  I am reminded by that kind and gentle nudge, to dance in the rain.

Let it go, let it go                                                                                                                                  I Can’t hold it back anymore

Here’s to you, Kate.  THANK YOU!

 

 

Leave a Reply

