Let Life Be a Part of You

It’s one thing to take a step in the direction of your desires when you’re feeling on top of the world, it’s another thing when you feel like the world is lying on top of you.

Throughout my life, I have dealt with bouts of depression.  I know it takes a lot to pull yourself out of it, especially if you allowed yourself to spiral.  Once I hit the bottom of the staircase, I laid there curled-up in a pile of self-pity and drowning in a pool of self-loathing.

So what did I do to get myself out of this state I chose to visit? I knew I could not remain a victim of my circumstance. I had to admit the fact it was my choice to take this trip.   Next, I got up. I had to connect instead of remaining isolated from the world around me. Sometimes I had to ask for help.

The key is to recognize when you’re standing at the top of the stairs, and not wait till you have started tumbling down the steps of despair.

A couple of things I know that worked well for me were:

1)Taking my shoes off and allowing my skin to connect with the earth. This helped ground me.

2) Connecting with others, especially children.  They are fabulous role models for living in the moment.

I found my purpose and balance when I allowed life to be a part of me.

Leave a Reply

